Service Roles 2016-2017

Director: Ross Whitaker

Associate Director: Mike Kirby

SoC Executive Committee: Mary Hall, Suresh Venkatasubramanian, Jim de St. Germain, Michael Young, Mike Kirby, and Ross Whitaker (chair).

All three of the positions below are, by default, on SoC Exec, along with 2-3 "at large" members.

Director of Graduate Studies (DGS): Feifei Li

- Grad Studies (Grad Curriculum) Committee consists of all the track directors. The chair of this committee is the DGS. Current Members are as follows:
 - Erik Brunvand Computer Engineering
 - Jacobus Van der Merwe Computer Science
 - Jeff Phillips Data Management and Analysis
 - Charles Hansen- Graphics and Visualization
 - Tom Fletcher Image Analysis
 - Sneha Kasera Networked Systems
 - John Hollerbach Robotics
 - Hari Sundar Scientific Computing
- Graduate Admissions Committee this committee consists of all the track directors plus an additional faculty member (at least) from each major research area. The chair of this committee is denoted as the "Chair of the Graduate Admissions Committee" and answers to the DGS. [Chair: Matthew Flatt]
- Due Progress Committee this committee consists of all the track directors. It is chaired by the DGS. The DGS, once a year, will report the findings of this committee to the faculty (normally in November).
- BS/MS Chairperson will oversee the specific details of the BS/MS program. This individual will answer to the DGS. [Chair: Cem Yuskel]
- Student Awards/Fellowships Liaison this person will work to promote active participation by SoC graduate students in all available fellowship application processes (e.g. NSF Graduate Fellowship, DoE Graduate Fellowship, etc.).

 [Chair: Elaine Cohen]
- Data Analysis and Prognostics this person will work with the DGS to analyze previous data and to help make deductions and predictions to aid the School in setting graduate enrollment numbers, etc. [Data Czar: Vivek Srikumar]

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Jim de St. Germain

• Undergraduate Studies Committee – consists of selected faculty members (tenure-line and career-line). This committee should have a member from EAE and a member from CE. [Chair: Zvonimir Rakamaric] Current

members are as follows: Jim de St. Germain, Bob Kessler, Erik Brunvand, Jason Wiese, Erin Parker, Tom Henderson and Matthew Flatt.

Director of Outreach: TBD

- Educational Outreach Coordinator Promotion of the interaction between the SoC and various K-12 outlets. [Chair: David Johnson]
- Industrial Liaison Miriah Meyer

Other miscellaneous committees and roles (answering directly to the Director):

Director of the Master's in Software Engineering (MSE)

Sneha Kasera

School RPT

Ellen Riloff

Regular Colloquia

Tucker Hermans

Organick Lecture Series

Ganesh Gopalaskrishnan

Distinguished Lecture Series

Suresh Venkatasubramanian

Facilities Liaison

John Regehr

Computer Engineering Liaison

Erik Brunvand

Entertainment Arts and Engineering Liaison

Michael Young

Space

Office of the Director

Research Grants

Office of the Director

GradSAC Liaison

Alex Lex

UgSAC Liaison

Ryan Stutsman

Diversity Committee

Mary Hall (Chair), Tucker Hermans, David Johnson, Tammy Denning, Miriah Meyer, Erin Parker, and Bill Thompson

Ad-Hoc Bylaws Committee

Mike Kirby (Chair), Chuck Hansen, Rajeev Balasubramonian, John Regehr, Ladislav Kavan, Peter Jensen, and Rob Ricci

Peer-Teaching Review Committee

TBD: The chair will be a tenure-line Full Professor. There will be four other members: two tenured faculty, one untenured faculty and one career-line teaching faculty.

Faculty Awards Liaison

Chris Johnson